Tuesday, August 31, 2010

error error error

I'm not very happy at the moment, this picasa thing has really messed me up. Only the first few blog posts have their pictures missing, so that is all well and good. But the whole way I was uploading them from the Picasa program got messed up, and there seems no real way to make it work that way again.

It just made the process of uploading the pictures to picasaweb.google.com several more clicks difficult. It may sound petty, but it was a big deal. And now its a hassle

If this were a normal hosted site, the pictures would be in a folder on the server, and have the name I uploaded them with. I could simply upload them again as long as they are still in the camera's name format of 100_4697.jpeg   The camera just names them based on number of pictures ever taken.

In that scenario, after clicking on a picture to view it larger,  you might see something in your address bar like this:
www.jonofalltrades.com/blogpictures/100_4697.jpeg


Whereas picasa web albums even if I delete the whole online album, make one the same name locally and set it up to sync automatically when I add pictures to it, (Like It Was Working Originally Before The All Too Easy Delete) it still names it differently because of a simple url like above it looks like this:

http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/CE2O5aB01eyRYedpk0cNiA?feat=directlink
http://lh3.ggpht.com/_Gac4CINlgYg/TH2usdWUx-I/AAAAAAAABiw/1U8Dyz-krN4/s144/100_6655.JPG
So in all the gibberish they change something so that I cannot go back to how I was unless I want to re-add the pictures to all the ( I know not that many) posts I have to this point manually to match the Brand New Gibberish

In case you could not tell, this is a rant. Not even that good of one. Except that I am quite annoyed, and it's helping me.

Its a very good reason to get site hosting now. Just not the way I wanted to go about making that switch one day, If ever.

So in the end, Picasa isn't doing that great a job keeping in sync web and local albums when if you hit delete on the local album that is synced online and it slowly starts deleting them online, Then you hit cancel. It loses all knowledge of what used to be. Importing the online album doesn't do it, and downloading the online album through picasa's menus. . . doesn't do it. It still turns out to be a new album and New gibberish.
If everything that I put up can this easily be undone because I'm working via Free channels, then I'm not sure where that leaves me, oh wait. . .yes I do!

Annoyed.

Just letting anyone know that cares.

1 comment:

  1. Ok, lets take a vote. Who know what Mr. JonOfAllTrades is talking about?

    ReplyDelete

linkwithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails